D-Boy – Playback

Release Type: Album Release Date: 18th August 2008

01 – Nach Ke (Bhangra Bounce) – Swiss and V Dubl E
02 – Come Closer (Dheere Dheere) – Baby Blue
03 – Tu Bataja (U Tell Me) – Des-C
04 – Loveless – A G Dolla and Sef
05 – Too Late – Sharifa Shi
06 – Best Described – Pyrelli
07 – Do Chariyan (2 Bachelors) – Shveta
08 – My Love (Aaja Aaja) – Sharifa Shi
09 – Ashers D’s Playback Skit – Asher D
10 – Tere Nain (Your Eyes) – Ranjit Mani
11 – Don’t Stop Moving – Selah
12 – Tu Kaha (Where Are You) – Desh
13 – D-boy Playback Outro -
14 – Loveless (Acoustic Soul Edition) – A G Dolla and Sef

‘‘D-boy never lets me down, from underground street bangers to dance floor anthems, he’s always on point” DJ Nihal (BBC Radio 1/BBC Asian Network)

”Bringing the new into British music” Asher D

”D-Boy is without a doubt one of the UK’s hottest producers. His mixture of soul, Hip Hop, R&B and Desi music is unstoppable!” DJ Neev (Presenter Kiss 100)

D-Boy’s debut single ‘Nach Ke – Bhangra Bounce’ featuring Swiss [So Solid] and VdublE, was released last year and made a huge impact in clubs and radio. It became one of the fastest rising urban club tracks of 2008. His appearance on the Bobby Friction & Nihal Presents Show on Radio1 took in the most text messages ever live on the show. Shot in LA, the outstanding video for the single was nominated for ‘Best Music Video’ at this year’s Asian Music Awards.

But D-Boy is no stranger to receiving accolades and critical acclaim. He is one of very few creative’s that go as far as penning top lines, lyrics, performing, arranging, through to final production that makes him exceptional. His songwriting skills alongside fellow songwriters Sharifa Shi and Chris ‘Marz’ Marsac, have led them to win the British Academy of Songwriters and Composers with Music Week ‘Overall Best Song’ in 2005 with ‘Reap what you Sow’. In 2006, the same team were awarded second place in the ‘Best Song’ category for their song ‘Heartbreaker’ at the Songwriters Academy in conjunction with Apple.com
Since, D-Boy has produced one of India’s biggest hit of 2007 [8 weeks in the top 5 charts] when he produced ‘Look 4 Me’ for music artist Hard Kaur. The single helped launch her career in India and has become a public smash hit.

It’s now his time to shine with his own solo debut album ‘Playback’ that has fans poised to purchase.

“I grew up on a heavy dose of early Amitabh Bachchan flicks but grew up in Battersea. My influences are
Hip Hop, Desi flavours and I have a thick R&B background that is very apparent in Playback. Lots of piano and strings! My sound is hard to define but easier to feel”. D-Boy

The ‘Playback’ project reveals a lot about the producer and his identity. Each of the tracks on the album follows the same concept, the marrying of his two different identities, British and Indian. Both these influences are now intrinsically bound and part of his creative process, how he hears music and therefore his output. As well as being a nod to Indian cinemas concept of playback singing – many talented artists coming together to share the spotlight but simply using one playback mic, the experimental element comes through in the make up of the tracks – not littered with out and out Indian Tumbi’s and samples.

The concept originally stemmed from a massive underground mid tempo, hip hop track ‘Come Closer [Dheere Dheere]’ produced by D-Boy and sung by UK MC Baby Blue. The full album includes a banging electro track Tu Kaha (Where are You?) with Hindi vocalist Desh, a grime influenced track ‘Best Described’ featuring UK MC Pyrelli, a futuristic pop R&B track ‘Keep On Moving’ with Selah, topped with one of the UK’s biggest Punjabi talent ‘Des-C’ who as a one off sings in Hindi matched with R&B style production. The new laid back single ‘Loveless’ narrates a story about forbidden love, the struggles and racism and features So Solid/Reelist R&B singer Sef and UK rapper A G Dolla.

D-boy first began his career in music at a young age playing the drums for his school band. He left his loft studio as a teenager to study music production at The John Marley Centre, Newcastle. He left with honours to pursue what he really loved. With an ear for talent, the first two artists he spent time developing and producing were Sharifa Shi and now the multi million selling artist Estelle. Later on alongside his brothers Shabz (So Solid) and Sef (The Reelists) they also landed their first development with the artist Bruce Boniface who is now successfully signed to Sony. Bruce has since moved to LA where he recently penned ‘Lie About Us’ for Avant featuring Nicole Scherzinger.

With lorry loads of talent and star quality in spades, D-Boy is Innovative and fearless in presenting his modern day soundscape for a multi cultural audience. We hope you enjoy.

Here is the Music Player. You need to installl flash player to show this cool thing!

The video cannot be shown at the moment. Please try again later.


The video cannot be shown at the moment. Please try again later.


The video cannot be shown at the moment. Please try again later.


The video cannot be shown at the moment. Please try again later.


The video cannot be shown at the moment. Please try again later.

Speak Your Mind